St Peterís Church


Situated in the main street, to the North of the centre of the village and opposite a tithe barn, St Peterís Church occupies an imposing position in the village. It is a beautiful old church, parts of which date back some 800 years. The oldest parts, the Chancel and Nave, date from the 13th century, the Tower from the 14th century and the Porch and South Chapel from the late 14th or early 15th century.


As with all buildings of this age, maintenance and repair is an ongoing issue, and major repairs to the Tower stonework have recently been completed, financed by a very successful appeal.


Services are held every second and fourth Sunday each month at 11.00 am and all are welcome. The Rector, the Revd William Ridding, looks after the Spire Hill benefice which includes the parishes of Stalbridge, Stourton Caundle, Purse Caundle and Stock with Kings Stag. Revd Ridding can be contacted via the benefice website which is at



Notice of Annual Parish Meeting



photos: Helen Bennett

Stourton Caundle Parochial Church Council


The PCC, working with the Rector, is responsible for day to day Church matters, including responsibility for the building itself.


Members of St Peterís Parochial Church Council:





















The council meets five times a year to discuss matters of general concern and importance to the parish, whether they be local issues or those raised by the diocese and the national church, members seeking to represent the views of the wider community.† The council is also responsible for the good upkeep of the church and churchyard.


Anyone seeking information about St Peterís church please telephone 01963 362692 or 01963 362287





Rev William Ridding

Church Wardens

Jane Colville


Gill Sanders (Child protection officer)

Committee Members

Terry Taylor (Vice Chairman)


Andrew Oliver (Chairman of fabric committee)


Tim Villiers (Electoral roll officer)


Clive Jones (Captain of the Tower)


Eric Dummett

Deanery Synod reps

Richard Miles


Julian Shardlow

Hon Secretary

Sarah Moss

Hon Treasurer

Gerry Holdstock